GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION No. 998 TO BE ANSWERED ON FRIDAY, SEPTEMBER 18, 2020

CYCLONE WARNING CENTRES

998. SHRI JASWANT SINGH BHABHOR: SHRI NARANBHAI KACHHADIYA: SHRI SHANTANU THAKUR: SHRI PARBATBHAI SAVABHAI PATEL:

Will the Minister of EARTH SCIENCES be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has set up cyclone warning centres in the coastal states of the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State/UT-wise including Gujarat and West Bengal; and
- (c) the number of States likely to be benefitted therefrom?

ANSWER MINISTER FOR SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AND EARTH SCIENCES (DR. HARSH VARDHAN)

- (a) Yes, Sir. In order to cater to the need of Cyclone Warning Services and Marine weather services, there are 7 Cyclone warning Centers covering the east & west coasts of our country.
- (b) Three Area Cyclone Warning Centres (ACWCs) located at Chennai, Mumbai and Kolkata and four Cyclone Warning Centres (CWCs) at Thiruvananthapuram, Visakhapatnam, Ahmedabad and Bhubaneswar. The responsibility for operational storm warning work for the respective area rests with the ACWCs and CWCs. Area of responsibility of ACWCs and CWCs is shown in Table 1.

Centre	Sea area	Coastal area*	Maritime State	
ACWC Kolkata	Bay of Bengal	West Bengal,	West Bengal, Andaman &	
		Andaman &	Nicobar Islands	
		Nicobar Islands		
ACWC Chennai	Bay of Bengal	Tamil Nadu,	Tamil Nadu, Puducherry,	
		Puducherry,	Karaikal Kerala, Mahe &	
		Karaikal Kerala,	Karnataka & Lakshadweep	
		Mahe & Karnataka		
		& Lakshadweep		
ACWC Mumbai	Arabian Sea	Maharashtra, Goa	Maharashtra, Goa	

Table 1: Area of responsibility of ACWC/CWC

CWC	Arabian		Kerala, Ma	he &	Kerala, Ma	he &
Thiruvananthapuram	Sea		Karnataka	&	Karnataka	&
			Lakshadweep		Lakshadweep	
CWC Ahmedabad	Arabian		Gujarat, Diu,	Daman,	Gujarat,	Diu,
	Sea		Dadra & Nagar Haveli		Daman, Da	dra &
					Nagar Haveli	
CWC	Bay	of	Andhra Pradesh		Andhra Pradesh	
Visakhapatnam	Bengal					
CWC	Bay	of	Odisha		Odisha	
Bhubaneshwar	Bengal					

*Coastal strip of responsibility extends upto 75 km from the coast line.

(c) All the 13 coastal States and Union Territories are benefitted from the services provided by these warning centers.
