GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF EARTH SCIENCES LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 2702 TO BE ANSWERED ON WEDNESDAY, 7THAUGUST, 2024

NEW DOPPLER WEATHER RADAR NETWORK

2702. SHRI AJAY KUMAR MANDAL:

Will the Minister of EARTH SCIENCES be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it is a fact that the new Doppler Weather Radar Network offers more advantages as compared to the previous weather prediction system, if so, the details thereof;
- (b) the number of new Doppler Weather Radars (DWRs) deployed across the country, Statewise;
- (c) the number of States that are depending on DWRs deployed in neighbouring States for prediction of weather conditions;
- (d) whether the Government has initiated measures to deploy DWRs in each and every State including Bihar as per the recommended distance factor for accurate prediction; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

ANSWER

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR MINISTRY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY AND EARTH SCIENCES (DR. JITENDRA SINGH)

- (a) Yes. The Doppler Weather Radars (DWRs) installed at various places across the country are used for continuous weather monitoring and weather forecasting for the regions covered by the respective DWRs. Suitable warnings and alerts are issued with the help of these DWRs in view of the challenges posed by various weather phenomena.
- (b) Currently, 39 DWRs are installed at various locations across the country. Details of the DWRs network are given in Annexure-1.
- (c) Eight States depend on DWRs deployed in neighbouring States, namely Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Manipur, Mizoram, Nagaland, and Sikkim.
- (d) Yes. India Meteorological Department is in the process of procuring and installing DWRs in a phased manner to strengthen the weather research and forecasting infrastructure across the country, including the State of Bihar.
- (e) The locations of these DWRs have been distributed in the best possible way to monitor weather conditions across multiple States in the Indian region.

Annexure-1

S. No.	State / Union Territory	DWR Locations
1.	Andhra Pradesh (3)	Machilipatnam (S-Band)
		Sriharikota, ISRO (S-Band)
		Visakhapatnam (S-Band)
2.	Arunachal Pradesh	-
3.	Assam (1)	Mohanbari (S-Band)
4.	Bihar (1)	Patna (S-Band)
5.	Chhattisgarh	-
6.	Goa (1)	Goa (S-Band)
7.	Gujarat (1)	Bhuj (S-Band)
8.	Haryana	-
9.	Himachal Pradesh (3)	Jot (X-Band)
		Murari Devi (X-Band)
		Kufri (X-Band)
10.	Jharkhand	_
11.	Karnataka	-
12.	Kerala (2)	Kochi (S-Band)
		VSSC, ISRO Thiruvananthpuram
		(C-Band)
13.	Madhya Pradesh (1)	Bhopal (S-Band)
14.	Maharashtra (4)	Mumbai (S-Band)
		Nagpur (S-Band)
		IITM Solapur (C-Band)
		Veravali (C-Band)
15.	Manipur	-
16.	Meghalaya (1)	Cherrapunji, ISRO (S-Band)
17.	Mizoram	-
18.	Nagaland	-
19.	Odisha (2)	Gopalpur (S-Band)
		Paradip (S-Band)
20.	Punjab (1)	Patiala (S-Band)
21.	Rajasthan (1)	Jaipur (C-Band)
22.	Sikkim	-
23.	Tamil Nadu (3)	Chennai (S-Band)
		Karaikal (S-Band)
		NIOT Chennai (X-Band)

Doppler Weather Radars (DWRs) network in the Indian region:

24.	Telangana (1)	Hyderabad (S-Band)
25.	Tripura (1)	Agartala (S-Band)
26.	Uttarakhand (3)	Lansdowne (X-Band)
		Mukteshwar (X-Band)
		Surkanda Devi (X-Band)
27.	Uttar Pradesh (1)	Lucknow (S-Band)
28.	West Bengal (1)	Kolkata (S-Band)
29.	Andaman & Nicobar Islands	-
30.	Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman	-
	& Diu	
31.	Jammu & Kashmir (3)	Banihal Top (X-Band)
		Jammu (X-Band)
		Srinagar (X-Band)
32.	Lakshadweep	-
33.	Chandigarh	-
34.	Delhi (3)	Ayanagar (X-Band)
		Palam (S-Band)
		HQ Mausam Bhawan (C-Band)
35.	Ladakh (1)	Leh (X-Band)
36.	Puducherry	-
